Grace for Grace

August 27, 2012 § Leave a comment

Below is a post that I just wrote for www.garzafamily.us :

And of His fullness we have all received, and grace for grace. John 1:16

This morning the Lord woke me up early, telling me that he would give me a different way of seeing his scripture and ministry than I had previously known. Not being able to go back to sleep after He woke me, I got up and continued a brief search through the Scripture on the word “grace”. I use the BlueLetterBible app because it has built in access to concordances and lexicons.

As I perused through the list of scriptures using the word, I came across John 1:16-17. It reads:
(NKJV) 16 And of His fullness we have all received, and grace for grace.
17 For the law was given through Moses, but grace and truth came through Jesus Christ.

I have always taken for granted what seem to be little word redundancies. Without the will to dig deeper, I always just read over them. So I decided to go deeper this time, and this is what I found:

(NKJV) John 1:16 And of His fullness we have all received, and grace for grace.

In this verse, the word for “have” and “received” are the same word “λαμβάνω or lambanō”. john also uses the same grace word for “grace for grace”, “χάρις or charis”. The word “for” is translated, “anti” meaning:
1) over against, opposite to, before
2) for, instead of, in place of (something)
a) instead of
b) for
c) for that, because
d) wherefore, for this cause

So it reads, “And of His Fullness (Abundance) we each receive receiving indeed grace in place of grace.” how can we have one thing in place of the same thing? To find out part of what makes the grace we receive in place of the grace we have different, we must dissect the next verse.

(NKJV) John 1:17 For the law was given through Moses, but grace and truth came through Jesus Christ.

In this verse, the word for given is “didōmi” which means to give something that already existed. So, the law is something that already existed in the world, but God gave it to Moses tangibly.
This Grace and Truth on the other hand was not given (didōmi), but rather “came” (ginomai) through Jesus Christ. Ginomai means to come into existence. So instead of Jesus’ grace and truth coming from something that already existed in the world, God introduced a new grace and a new truth, of which the world had never known. Jesus’ grace and truth did not exist before He came to display it.

So to go back to verse 16, “and of His fullness (abundance) we each receive receiving indeed a grace that the world has never known in place of the grace that we already knew, a grace and truth that has become redefined through Jesus Christ.

I’m learning more and more about Jesus’ grace. I just found it neat that the morning that the Lord wakes me to tell me that he will reveal things to me that I did not realize, is the same day that he reveals that His grace through Jesus Christ did not exist until He came.

Yours in Victory,
David J Garza

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Grace for Grace at David J. Garza.

meta

